1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

new user, need help

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 10:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation new user, need help

Hey guys im a first year apprentice heavy duty mechanic. and I just got my self a fairly nice 1st gen 92 5.9 cummins diesel. my dad is a long time user of this site but im new and I don't always know what you all are talking about. I have the same speedo problems as most but I cant actually find out what a VSS is ? and also what is the word STICKY coming up so often for ?

also since I am a first time diesel owner, I have no clue were to get any of the aftermarket parts for my truck, I want an hx 35, but ebay looks unreliable. also I want and exhaust and some injectors, but I just don't have a clue as to were to get these things for my 92 dodge.

ALSO I have a RAM 250. whats is a W250 and what is the difrence ?
thanks
Old 06-24-2013, 10:21 PM

Welcome to DTR. The vss is the vehicle speed sensor it is on the trans or transfer case if your rig is 4wd. The sticky is the thread at the top of the first gen forum. It has a lot of good info in there check it out here https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/...t-t102027.html.
Old 06-25-2013, 12:04 AM

Received 1,334 Likes on 864 Posts
Welcome to the Board!! I know how you feel. When I bought my cummins crewcab I knew very little about these motors and drivetrain......Steep learning curve that's for sure.

Yup some of our common abbreviations for things can get confusing. Don't worry about asking...we all had to learn at some time.

A D250 refers to a 2wd 3/4 ton truck. A W250 is a 4wd 3/4 ton truck.

I find Rockauto to be a great resource for parts for our trucks. I also use it to research parts and part numbers.