1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

New Diesel Owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2003, 05:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Diesel Owner

Het guys, just wanted to sya thanks for havin htis great sight out her eto help all of the diesel owners out. I'm new to this game and was just wondering on where I should start a sfar as mods go. I don't have the money to drop into turbo's or anyhting like that right now but down the line I will. I bought a 1993 W250 CTD that is all stock. It's got 110K miles and runs like a top. As of right now It does need a muffler. I don't really want to spend $125 on a parfts store one if I can get one from Banks or someone for the same price. <br> I hear alot of talk about these POD injectors, how are they? Expensive? Easy/hard to install? I'll be doing most of the mods on the truck myself so any info you guys and gals can give me would be appreciated. I have to take it from the simple to the more top end stuff for now. Money is a concern right now so keep that in mind.
Old 03-09-2003, 06:57 PM

Re:New Diesel Owner

get a set of guages and then you can turn the pump up!! ;D
Old 03-09-2003, 10:18 PM
Patron Saint of 1st gens

There are a number of great options available to you that will do everything Banks can do, only far less costly. Don't get me wrong, Gale Banks makes fine products that are pretty much guaranteed to fit, but the &quot;premium&quot; for the name is too high for me personally.

Guages are a must. No discussion, they are a must...
You won't have any idea what affects, good or bad, you mods/changes have had without them. Not only that, but they may just save your engine's life.
Pyro, boost, tach, to start with. If you have an auto, you'll need a tranny temp guage to.

Pump tweaks are free and will give you a nice jump in performance.