1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

>>> luberfiner oil filters ??? <<<

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2011, 10:59 PM

Received 93 Likes on 73 Posts
Question >>> luberfiner oil filters ??? <<<

Okay, I am a long-time FLEETGUARD FIRST, then Baldwin, then WIX, filter user.

However, in a package-deal of numerous items, I have acquired a number of LuberFiner LFP780XL oil-filters that do FIT these engines.

Quality-wise, how do these filters compare ??

Seeing as the price is right, should I use them or no ??

I have no experience with the LuberFiner brand.

Thanks.
Old 04-02-2011, 09:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have always heard they were a good product.

I did some research, and found this. This guy has been in the filter/filter media production business for a LONG time.

"Well...

Luber-finer filters have a national account program with Freighliner and Petro Truck stops.

They build filters for Detroit Diesel and Caterpillar to name but two truck engine OEM's they do business with. They also build John Deere, Mercury Marine, Kubota, and a few other non-car engine filters amongst others.

Yes, they are made by Champ, and as such they are cheap junk to some opinionated people.

It was the Luber-finer heavy duty brand which got Donaldson into the truck engine filter business. Luber-finer made 95% of Donaldsons oil, fuel, and coolant filters. Donaldson has always made their own air filters and is the leader in OEM engine business for trucks.

So if another filter manufacturer can test Luber-finer and find them sufficient for Luber-finer to private label Donaldson ( which they do to this day), of course they're cheap junk. < Donaldson since then has added capacity to build some of the more popular truck engine filters. Some of that capacity is from Mexico >