1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

A Little Friendly Advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2007, 03:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A Little Friendly Advice

Hey guys,

I bought one of the 3200 rpm governor springs and I need some advice. I am no mechanic. So, I know absolutely nothing about the insides of an injector pump. I can do the basics but I am not a skilled mechanic. Would you guys advise me to follow the sticky directions and try it myself or would you say take it to a mechanic and let them do it. I have read the directions in the sticky and it looks pretty complicated to me. The throttle on my ride has always been proned to stick when you stomp it. I talked to the mechanic who rebuilt my pump about six months ago and he said that it was a Fulcometer (or something like that) that is bent in my pump causing the throttle to hang when you stomp it. What is a fulcometer? Does this sound right? He said for $600.00 he can take my pump off the truck, replace the fulcometer, put me the much coveted 3200 rpm spring in, and recalibrate the pump for that price. What do you guys think?
Old 04-17-2007, 03:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by efbeason
What is a fulcometer? Does this sound right? What do you guys think?
I think I will go snipe hunting this after-noon, maybe a little cow tipping later on. Just kidding maybe time for new mechanic?
Old 04-17-2007, 03:30 PM

I think you should "STAY AWAY FROM THAT SO CALLED MECHANIC"
Old 04-17-2007, 03:45 PM
Ace
Banned

Yeah, that's a new one on me. I've never heard of anything getting "bent" inside the IP. I suppose it is possible, and he's using some unfamiliar terminology rather more a more recognizeable term we would know, tho. The pump experts will have to chime in on this one...
Old 04-17-2007, 04:01 PM