1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Impressions of new gov spring

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2004, 12:35 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Impressions of new gov spring

Well I have had my new gov spring in for a week now and all seems good.

I did not get the 3200RPM spring that most people here have been getting(part number 366). It was not available at my local supplier so they ordered me a 386 spring. Not sure what the difference is but I can easily hit 3000RPM with it.

Installation was very easy(I am a HD mechanic by trade and have a fairly well stocked garage). I simply followed the directions from this site. The only trouble i had was the linkage travelled farther and would bind up on one of the tubes coming off the top of the pump. Thought I had put the linkage back together in the wrong order ar first but review of the directions confirmed that I had it correct so a minute on the grinder and the linkage was properly clearanced.

Depending on where I set the high idle screw I can hit atleast 3200RPM by puttting it to the floor in Neutral. No sign of RPM flare or runaway. Rolls up nice and drops back just as easy.

Much more power in high RPM and on the highway. One hill I always drive on used to give me trouble as the enigine would defuel in 3rd gear(automatic) before the upshift into OD. It would struggle at the shift point not able to get that 2 extra KM/H to upsift. Now it just rolls right on up.

As someone else mentioned here I did need to rebend my gas pedal as it was bottoming out on the floor boards. I also had to clearance the stops on the throttle linkage bracket. Now I can take my high idle screw completly out and get full travel right to the stop on the throttle.