1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Head gasket Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2005, 04:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Head gasket Replacement

Hey guys-I havent been on in a few months now but now I need your help. I need to do a head gasket in my '93 CTD and have never done a diesel before. I'm just looking to get it back on the road again as plow season is almost here. I'm not looking for a power boost or anything like that. At this point anyways. What should I replace along with the head gasket? Is there a kit from somwhere? I was told replace the head bolts as they stretch. Any info you could give me would be a great help. I'm new to this whole dieesl thing so bear with me , please. I'm going to be doin this as soon as possible so any info you could give me would be great! Thanks!!!
Old 11-15-2005, 04:27 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Since the head will be off, I'd say at the very least have a diesel-savvy machine shop clean it up, check it for cracks and plane it flat. While they're right there, maybe some HD valve springs? New head bolts are a big yes.

btw, get a cherry picker or eat your wheaties....the head weighs 117 pounds
Old 11-15-2005, 05:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't know how much head bolts cost, but studs are supposed to keep the HG together better. Just something to consider
Old 11-15-2005, 06:24 PM

Head gasket Replacement

Can I get studs from any auto parts stores? As far as Diesel savvy shops around here-never heard of any. The local NAPA store has a pretty good machinist tho. Again-is there some type of gasket kit for this job or do I just need a head gasket and a valve cover gasket? Never done a diesel before.
Old 11-15-2005, 07:03 PM

Ive never done the job and I dont have a service manual, but you can find studs here: http://www.performancedieselwarehouse.com/916584.html