1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Haze at idle on stock motor?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 09:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Haze at idle on stock motor?

Well for the past few weeks i have noticed a Haze at idle and when i get heavy on the gas but i thought nothing of it because it would only do it every once in a while. But today it started to worry me, after getting heavy on the throttle it didnt go away like it normally does. Its hard to notice but you can see it go past the window when the wind is blowing.

What would the problem be? Dirty injectors? its a 91, orig 193k miles.

sorry i ask more than i input, I'm new to the diesel scene, i hope soon i can start giving back to this fine community.

Thanks,
Scott.
Old 03-11-2009, 12:22 AM
DTR's "Cooler than ice cubes 14 miles North of North Pole" member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Could be dirty injectors. I would start with checking the air filter though.
Old 03-11-2009, 12:27 AM

Check the fuel filter and lift pump pressure. That is the same thing ive been dealing with and am about to install a new Air dog lift pump to hopefully fix this. I suspect now that the last lift pump is no good or maybe more air but no external leaks. If it comes and goes I would look into these for sure.
Old 03-11-2009, 11:41 AM

Is it when it's cold? If so check out your KSB sol.
Old 03-11-2009, 01:38 PM

Tron, do you run a FP gauge? I recall that we both have the same problem with haze from the 190's....I wonder if a higher fuel pressure would help the injector to atomize a little better..I experimented with the fuel screw but that did not seem to make a noticeable difference...pdr checked my sticks and told me there was nothing wrong with them, and I still get a steady haze with my valet on and the pump turned down or up..my fp is steady at 5psi usually....