1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Anyone Heard of whitish blue smoking only on idle

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2007, 04:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone Heard of whitish blue smoking only on idle

Hello, i'm a newbie to dtr but have been reading for a while. My truck is a 93 w-350 club cab 4x4. The fuel pump has been turned up some, i just replaced the injectors, set the valves, and serviced it. I just bought the rig and it is awesome but i can't get it to stop smoking on idle. The smoke smells like fuel and it only does it at idle. I think i have it narrowed down to the lift pump and or timing. I just wanted to get somebody elses opinion. Thanks, Kevin a.k.a. onetwopunch
Old 03-23-2007, 04:39 PM

Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts
Welcome to DTR!,I don't think it could be the lift pump as it only puts fuel through the injector pump at 7 psi. Timing could be a factor but the questions are; ,
how many miles is on the engine?
What is your idle setting?
How warm is the engine?

Please fill out your signature so we know what we are referring too.
Old 03-23-2007, 04:43 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
If it's smoking blue than you're burning oil. What kind of oil are you using? How many miles do you have on the truck? High mileage trucks should not use synthetic. It's slipperiness causes it to slip past worn ring and seals.
Old 03-23-2007, 05:31 PM

When you say whiteish that makes me think head gasket, burning a bit of anti-freeze maybe? I also notice that all kinds of smoke just smell like fuel with these things. Give it a little less on the low smoke screw and see how that works.
Old 03-23-2007, 06:08 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts