1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

93 Dodge, won't start, no lights after key is turned to start position for a while

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2014, 11:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
93 Dodge, won't start, no lights after key is turned to start position for a while

Hi this is my first time posting so please be gentle.

I want to say first off that this forum has been invaluable to myself and my father.

My Dad owns a 1993 D250 Cherry Red with a Canopy on the back and custom stacks going through the forward part of the Canopy. Very nicely done.
However, here is the problem, it will not start!
When the key is in the on position everything seems fine, then as you hit the key to turn it over nothing, here is where it gets weird, all the lights go out even the dome light! And they stay off for some time then come back say the next day and they work.

From doing research on the forums here and in others we thought maybe it was the headlight switch, which was already acting up. I replaced it but now I have no lights at all. I’m thinking I may have not installed the ground right. Sadly it came with no instructions and I did not take the whole area apart to try and fix it earlier.

Here is my idea of what it might be and I need to have some validation of my thinking here.

I think it’s the fusible link. Now as I understand it the Fusible link comes off the positive battery Terminal. Well I think because of a modification I mention below that might have broken it because of the amount of vibration the diesel gives off.

As a side note I do have a multi meter to check things and the tools to do most wiring jobs.

Thank you all for reading

Josh