12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

trying to pinpoint starting problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2003, 07:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
trying to pinpoint starting problem

hello everyone! its been awhile since i have posted, but i have been lurking around in the backround.<br><br>i have been experiencing some starting trouble. some days my truck fires right off, some days it turns over a few times before it fires off, and some time it will never fire off. on the days it wont fire at all, i have to pop the hood, and manually engage the fuel shutoff solenoid.<br><br>so i wonder, is the solenoid going bad? if so, will it go totally out one day and never start? thats what im worried about.<br><br>thanks guys..
Old 04-24-2003, 08:04 AM

Re:trying to pinpoint starting problem

I would test the relay first. I am no pro, but there is a description of how to test a relay in all of the cheap repair manuals. I could probably find and post it if you need.
Old 04-24-2003, 12:04 PM

Trace ALL the wires coming and going to your solenoid. You could easily have a short in one or just a bad spot which is keeping you from getting correct voltage. Its a lot cheaper than a new solenoid too .<br> Wheels
Old 04-25-2003, 12:17 PM