12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

transmission issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 06:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
transmission issues

How's it going guys, I'm new to the game. Have a bad TC shudder when it shifts into overdrive. Transmission was rebuilt by previous owner, and it still has the problem. Checked TPS voltage, was half of what it was supposed to be with key on, tried adjusting it, no increase in voltage. So I installed an electrolytic capacitor in the TPS signal wire close to the PCM. Truck shifts great but no OVERDRIVE, thanks for the help

Last edited by brian thomas; 04-11-2007 at 06:35 PM. Reason: sounded bad
Old 04-11-2007, 08:41 PM

Do I have this right? The truck did shift into OD but shuttered when it did, now it does not make the shift. If that is correct, does it slip when it wants to make the shift or does it just stay in 3rd gear. Does lockup work? TPS is important for 4th gear shift and lock up. Capacitor will probly have to be removed and you will have to find out why TPS is wrong.
Old 04-12-2007, 03:03 PM

transmission issues

Badme thanks for the reply, Before the capacitor the transmission/TC would have a terrible shudder when the TC locked in forth, always seemed to be around 43-45 MPH, Now when it shifts into third there is no TC lockup, and it dosent even try to shift into forth. Thanks
Old 04-12-2007, 04:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hey Brian I farted around with my Tps like you are doing in an effort to save a few bucks but in the end I shopped around and replaced the thing and the overdrive works great now. Some have good luck with these methods others don't. It may be time to Pony up.......
Old 04-12-2007, 08:38 PM