12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Possible rear end failure

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 02:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Possible rear end failure

Well now I have been driving my 96 2500 for about 5 years with no problems and the other day returning home it started making a slipping noise in the driveline like u-joint slack but we were not doing anything more than driving down the road at a constant speed. I had been thinking the clutch was going bad and maybe it was the cause of the noise as it squeaks a little when you engage it but does not slip pulling my boat up the boat ramp. Anyway stopped and looked under and saw oil on the inside of the left rear wheel indicating an axel seal leak. Got home and checked the diff and found it a quart low on lube. Replaced that this am and made some turns around the yard left and right and it is now jumping or slipping even more. Has my rear end or maybe the clutches or gears started to go out. When making figure eight turns it does not make any noise but if I give it a little throttle it snaps and pops. Is that from a possible posi rear end and can I drive it to the shop?
Old 01-23-2009, 04:47 PM

Do you know if you have a limited slip rear or not?

I would start by taking a little bit of oil out of the diff and putting it on a white background with good lighting and carefully look for a lot of metal shavings. Also look at the magnetic plug and see what you see on that.

If you have a posi, you could well just be experiencing the clutches in it grabbing. If you have an open rear and the binding is coming from the rear, then you are likely to have slightly larger problems.