12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Help adjusting timing

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2003, 11:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help adjusting timing

Truck: 1994 CTD, 12v, 2wd, Banks Stinger Plus, 127,000 miles

I have been reading a lot of posts on advancing the timing so I looked into it last night. Since I am a begninner mechanic, I have a few questions:

1. I took off the hex bolt of the AFC housing and saw the spring and the star wheel. Which way do you turn the star wheel it to advance and

2. How do you know to which degree you just moved it to?

3. How does one determine which degree it is at currently?

As always, thanks in advance (pun intended) for the help.

Greg
Old 08-27-2003, 06:29 PM

Re:Help adjusting timing

I dont know much about adjusting the timing, but I do know that is not how it is done,the star wheel is used to adjust pre boost fueling, turn it towards the front of the truck for more turn it towards the cab for less.
Old 08-27-2003, 06:47 PM

Indeed, timing adjustment is a bit more complex. What you are doing is fine-tuning your fueling schedule by turning the star-wheel. Do a search. There are a couple of recent threads on what it takes to advance the timing on your 2nd gen truck. It takes some special tools and a lot more know-how than I have.
Old 08-28-2003, 11:05 AM

Your right. I am interested in advancing the fueling schedule. I just got confused after reading some of the posts that sounded like advancing the timing but I guess they were talking about advancing the fuel timing on the injector pump.

Thanks
Old 08-28-2003, 11:11 AM

If you're looking to move the stock plate forward, you can use these instructions:
http://www.tstproducts.com/power_install.html