12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Died and won't restart. LP?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2007, 06:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Died and won't restart. LP?

Hi all, I will first warn that I am a complete n00b when it comes to diesel engines. I am an automotive electrical technician, so I do know my way around a vehicle quite well, I just have extremely little experience with diesels, especially ctd's. I just bought the truck (96 2500 ext. cab longbed) a little over 2 weeks ago i believe. may have been 3 weeks, i really cant remember right now. anyway, i have put about 2000 miles on it already, so i do not believe this was a known problem before it was sold. i was out last night, and as i let off the gas from roughly 35mph, the engine died. i let it stop and put it in park and restarted it. it seemed to run ok then, so i figured i would just see what it did afterwards. looked at the fuel gauge, and it was below 1/4 tank, but no low fuel light yet, and decided i was going to head to the gas station soon. maybe 1 mile later it did the same thing, i stopped and started it back up, then i decided i was heading home with it. looked at fuel gauge and now low fuel light is on, but wasnt on just a couple of minutes before. maybe half mile away this time it died. i started it back up while it was rolling, but i had to give it some gas to get it started (either that or it was a coincidence). It ran like crap then. barely any power at all, it seemed to me like it was fuel related but as i know nothing about diesels, i could be wrong. i then sat for about 5 minutes and called my dad to come out with his truck and a tow strap. while i was on the phone with him, it started back up, and drove like crap again, and about 5 starts later, i finally managed to get it about 3 houses down the street and into a church parking lot. My dad came out and we went and got fuel to