12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Delivery valves

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2003, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Delivery valves

I had someone tell me that you could modify the stock delivery valves to put out more fuel. How do you do this and how hard is it. I have modified a cam plate before and it worked great. <br>Thanks for the help<br>DM01
Old 03-10-2003, 01:25 PM
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Re:Delivery valves

I am no expert but I will relay the information given to me by a local injection pump shop.<br><br>I have a weak #1 delivery valve in my truck. I went to the local shop asking how hard it is to replace/modify these valves.<br><br>The story they gave me was that these valves need special tools/skills to replace/adjust.<br>They said that the valves can be thrown out of adjustment by just microns of an inch.<br>Now, if they were telling me that just so I would give them my business... or were they really telling in honest... I dont know.<br>Like I said, Im no expert.<br><br>If what they told me was correct, then I dont think getting into the delivery valves would be something to do without the proper tools and experience.<br><br>Someone please correct me if my info is wrong.<br><br>Rich.
Old 03-10-2003, 05:29 PM

dodgeman01<br><br>Give Piers a call as I am sure he can answer your questions and help keep you on the right track.<br><br>Doug
Old 03-10-2003, 08:10 PM
DTR Advertiser

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

DM01,

You can remove and re-install delivery valves with little to no trouble at all. Make sure everything is perfectly clean and you have the socket designed to fit the delivery valve holder.
I use a pencil magnet to remove them from the barrel assembly. Make sure the pencil magnet does not have any small or tiny pieces of metal shavings or contaminates to get into the plunger and barrel area before you get started.